By The Way

The City & County of Honolulu is 100 years old.


The centennial is being celebrated between July 2005 and July 2006. The Honolulu Centennial Commission and Honolulu Magazine are accepting nominations from the public for 100 Honolulu citizens (“The 100 Honolulu Honorees”), living or deceased, who have made lasting contributions to the city and county, its life and its culture.

Nominees should be individuals who spent at least a significant portion of their lives in the city and county of Honolulu from 1905-2005. The categories are as follows: Agriculture, Business (Visitor Industry, Manufacturing, Commerce & Trade, Finance, Communications, Entrepreneurship etc.), Culture & Arts, Education, Entertainment, Environment, Hawaiian History & Culture, High Tech, Labor, Media, Medicine/Health & Wellness, Military, Philanthropy, Politics/Government, Religion/Spirituality, Sports, Non-Profit Organization and others.

To nominate a candidate for “The 100 Honolulu Honorees,” please submit the following information to: Honolulu 100, 1600 Kapiolani Blvd., Suite 1000, Honolulu, HI 96814.

  Name of Nominee

  Date of his/her birth      


  250 words or less on why you

   are nominating this person

• Photograph of person nominated

The deadline for nominations is Friday, July 8, 2005.


Campbell Estate announced the winners of the 2005 Kapolei Outstanding Achievement Awards. (l. to r.) are Frances Rivero of Boys and Girls Club Ewa Beach, Bob Singlehurst of Grace Pacific Corporation, Maeda Timson of Sunset on the Plains Founding Committee, Bill Bogart on behalf of Mike Fisch of the Honolulu Advertiser, Ann Kawahara of Hale O Ulu, and Alex Rodriguez, Ewa by Gentry Community Association.

• • •

Michael O’Connor, a teacher at Digital Media Arts Academy, has received a Time Warner Cable National Teacher Award. In addition to a $1000 cash grant, O’Connor was honored during an Awards event last month in Washington, D.C.

• • •

Last month, the National Wildlife Refuge System welcomed Tiffany Robinson, a Honolulu native and undergraduate attending Western Washington University, into Second Annual Governor Tauese P.F. Sunia Memorial Coral Reef Conservation Summer Internship Awards.

Hawai‘i Pacific University students took two of the three top honors at in this year’s Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) national logo contest. Teresa Pytel and Bonnie Beatson, graduate students in the College of Communication, won first and third place, respectively, for their logo designs for the 2006 AEJMC convention in San Francisco. Beatson’s design will also be used on all AEJMC publications throughout the year and on conference materials.


Better Brands and American Express, sponsors of the 7th Hale Aina Golf Tournament, were huge contributions to the event’s success, generating $31,000 in proceeds for the Hale Aina Ohana. The tournament was held recently at the Kapolei Golf Course. Celebrating at the check presentation are ( r) Hale Aina Ohana Co-Chair John Alves and Tom Mullen and Chancellor John Morton from Kapiolani Community College and George Szigeti with Better Brands.

• • •

For the 4th consecutive year, Saint Francis School students raised more money per capita than any other private school for Aloha United Way’s Student Aloha Programs. This year, Saint Francis students donated $2,100 with proceeds raised from their annual Penny Carnival held on All-Saints Day in October. Shown at the presentation (l. to r.) are Saint Francis School Principal Sister Joan of Arc Souza, Dr. Bob Peter, headmaster of Hanahauoli School who represents the Private School Student Aloha Program; Saint Francis School student Rachel Weaver (‘06) and Cherise Imai, assistant vice president of Aloha United Way.

• • •

Hale Ku‘ai Cooperative has been awarded a $15,000 grant from the Office of Hawaiian Affairs under the Community-Based Economic Development program to help with wholesale distributorship and Internet development. The project will be aligned to accomplishing economic development goals in OHA’s strategic plan, and will begin this month for a year.